Light Trails – Challenge #1

The first challenge wasn’t the most difficult challenge. I had a reasonable understanding of how to do light trails with some extra help from Darren Rowse’s Light Trails Tutorial at the Digital Photography School. I will say though that taking these shots, especially getting some you are proud of, is a lot of fun.  To learn about what it took to make this shot and see a few others, click on past the break.

What I needed to shoot light trails was a tripod, wireless remote and my camera of course. You also need to take these pictures either at night or just after sunset.

I packed the  equipment on to my bike (the tripod I have is pretty big so this was a bit of trouble) and headed down to Riverdale Park East in Toronto, where there is a pedestrian bridge across the Don Valley Parkway.

Once I arrived “on location”, I set up the equipment and got to work framing the shots, looking for nice composition, and started shooting the pictures. It is best to use shutter speeds around 10-20 seconds, but the fun is in experimenting with these times as you can get different effects. In the end, I preferred the long shutter speeds that made the trails that go from one side of the shot to the other.

While taking these pictures, people walking by were giving me some funny looks, probably not quite sure what I was up to. Often photographers look crazy trying to find different angles and such and that is something I’m just going to have to come to terms with, especially when approaching some of the “wilder” upcoming challenges.

That’s all for now, hope you enjoy the pictures!

2 responses

  1. Very nice! I’m going to try some of these sometime this summer myself. There is a pedestrian bridge nearby to where I live. It will be fun to see what kind of view I can get from way up there.

    I love the color of the sky you captured at this time of the day/night and the “starburst” street lights.

    June 21, 2011 at 11:19 pm

    • Thanks for the feedback, it is definitely a lot of fun experimenting with these shots. I didn’t even notice the starburst street lights until you mentioned it!

      June 22, 2011 at 1:24 pm

Leave a Reply

